Freeze Frame #122: Johnny Gaddaar

This is what a Hindi movie about thieves and a plan gone wrong should be like. A sharp screenplay that drips with references but has enough going for it beyond that, good acting all around, and a music video that absolutely drips with style. While the entire movie is quite good, it is the video for Sabse bada rupaiya that stands out in my mind.

The first time I heard the song, I thought it was okayish. The next time, it was when I saw the video and it sounded so much better. Since then, despite the passage of months, I still finding myself enjoying the video just as much as I did the first time around.

I think a lot of that has to do with the way the video mirrors the rhythm of the song. The shot length is usually the same as the beat, so it’s like the visuals provide their own additional layer of percussion. And what is more, the camera never stops moving — in any shot, it is either moving in, or out, or sideways. The effect is that you feel like you’re dancing. I am not sure if a lot of videos employ this technique, but this is the first time I have noticed it so clearly.

Leave a Reply

