Will the real Hari Puttar please stand up?

A few weeks ago, Memsaab posted a review of Makdee wherein I had commented that Shweta Prasad would be my choice for Hermione if someone were to remake Harry Potter in Hindi. So I got to thinking: If I had to remake the Potter franchise in Hindi, what would my casting choices look like? I’m gonna assume that I can pick actors from across the ages to play various roles, so that a really appropriate casting choice doesn’t get thrown out simply because I didn’t have a time machine handy.

Ron Weasley: Kunal Khemu.

Hermione Granger: Shweta Prasad, hands down.Β 

Albus Dumbledore: Amitabh Bachchan. One of those choices that seems obvious in hindsight, but trust me, I spent a lot of time agonizing over this one before deciding that it really had to be AB. For what it’s worth, my next choice would’ve been Prithviraj Kapoor.

Severus Snape: Kay Kay Menon.

Sirius Black: I’m thinking Vinod Khanna.

Remus Lupin: Boman Irani

Minerva McGonagall: Dina Pathak.Β 

Hagrid: Dara Singh.

Draco Malfoy: Really can’t think of anyone for this role.

… and in minor supporting roles:

Arthur Weasley: Anupam Kher

Molly Weasley: Kirron Kher

Lucius Malfoy: Jeevan.

Gilderoy Lockhart: Salman Khan. A lot of people can play handsome, but Salman can play silly like few others can. He comes by it naturally, I think.

Horace Slughorn: Utpal Dutt

James Potter: Dharmendra

Lily Potter: Sharmila Tagore

Peter Pettigrew: Pankaj Kapoor.Β 

Mundungus Fletcher: Keshto Mukherjee. Not really a major character, but I had to give ol’ Keshto a part somehow πŸ™‚

And finally…

Lord Voldemort: Naseeruddin Shah.

Any suggestions on who should play Harry? Write in with your casting choices, or post them on your blog and drop me a note. I’ve restricted my choices to Hindi cinema, but one can consider other Indian languages as well.

14 thoughts on “Will the real Hari Puttar please stand up?

  1. memsaab>> Does the Vivek Oberoi choice pertain to his off-screen image? πŸ™‚

    I might go with a young Shahid Kapoor for Harry. I can see Jugal Hansraj fitting into the role in the early opisodes, but I doubt he’ll be such a good fit when the series turns darker. I’d rather put Jugal in the Neville Longbottom role.

    ~r

  2. I caught a bit of Mr. India last night on TV and it occurred to me that the bespectacled kid who is the only one who knows Anil Kapoor’s secret might be a decent choice for Potter.

  3. Karishma says:

    This idea is drool worthy! seriously! If I were a film-maker I’d be on it like a wildfire!! Heck if I had a handycam I’d be rounding up the cast this very minute (wellll not the original(read real)actors ofcourse!!! I WANT to be involved in some way with the Indian Harry Potter. Can you imagine the things we could do??????

    Ramsu, I am sure you didn’t know this at the time of making that suggestion, but Aftab Shivdasani played that kid :S

  4. shweta>> Sexy? She’s too sassy for the Harry role. I might go for her in the Ginny role, though. I wish I could think of someone for the Luna Lovegood role, but it’s proving difficult.

    Karishma>> Welcome to the blog, Pottermaniac πŸ™‚ That was Aftab? Damn, I didn’t recognize him at all!

    ~r

  5. Shilpa says:

    How about Juhi Chawla for Luna? She did give the impression of being in her own world a lot of times.
    I’d say young Rishi Kapoor as Harry, and I find the idea of Simi Garewal as Prof.Trelawny delightful πŸ™‚
    Ooh…I love the Harry Potter series and I just can’t stop thinking about this now πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  6. A young Juhi for Luna would be perfect. Good pick, Shilpa!

    Simi as Trelawny would be a hoot, yes. Especially for those who have watched at least one episode of her show πŸ™‚ Except, the Mera Naam Joker memories your choice dredges up are a bit of a problem πŸ˜€

    Rishi as Harry? I’m not so sure. Someone who can look a bit more serious, like a young Shashi maybe. Whatchathink?

    ~r

    ~r

  7. Noooooooooooo! Professor Snape is supposed to be HAWT! Alan Rickman is so delish- I lurve the way he modulates his voice, and his smirks, and his zulfein! Oooh, bad bad boy! KK Menon is too direct yaar. Need someone sexy. Like Milind Soman perhaps. Except the audience will die when he opens his mouth πŸ˜€

    And I agree with Juhi as Luna πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

