I’m back…

For those of you who are marginally interested: I spent a fortnight in Europe, then went to Chennai for my sister’s wedding, then to the Andamans for some much-needed R&R (travelogue post coming soon), then back to Chennai for Diwali (wishing you and your loved ones, btw)… 24 fps should be back in action by next week, maybe even earlier if I can squeeze in a post or two.

And just before I sign off, here’s a little food for thought. The promos for Subhash Ghai’s Yuvvraaj are out. What are the chances that the movie has taken a teeny bit of inspiration from Nicholson’s Five Easy Pieces? Not too high, but one can always wish…

And while we’re on the topic, Sanni, since you’ve been interested in Hindi for some time now, do you want to take a stab at translating the chicken salad exchange into Hindi? πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “I’m back…

  1. Bolly Tragic says:

    I won’t attempt to translate the chicken salad dialogue into Hindi, but I will note for the record that it is almost word-for-word the same as a conversation I had with a breakfast waiter in Diu (near Gujarat).

    I liked the look of the omelette, which was served with bread.

    Me: My fussy Western preference is for toast rather than bread in the morning. Can I have the bread toasted?

    Him: The omelette is served with bread, madame.

    A middlingly long conversation ensued where I tried to illustrate numerous scenarios where it might be possible for me to ensure the right amount of bread toasted. Resulting in:

    Me: Can you give me a separate serve of toast?

    Him: Of course, madame.

    Me: Okay, great, give me an omelette and a toast. But just don’t give me the bread with the omelette in that case.

    Him: But the omelette comes with bread, Madame.

    Me: Charge me the full omelette + bread price, that’s fine, but don’t give me the bread because I won’t eat it, and I can’t stand to see food go to waste.

    Him:

    Me: Oh, fine, you’ve given me the bread. Perhaps my husband will eat it. No? Oh well. Dear waiter, we’ve had a long conversation about this, and I feel like you’re a brother to me. Would you like the bread? No. Is there anyone in the kitchen who would like the bread? No.

    I ate the bread. And the toast. And the omelette.

  2. It took me a while to stop laughing πŸ™‚

    I really think you should’ve tried telling him to hold the bread between his legs. I mean, the conversation itself was going nowhere, this way you would’ve had a claim to fame πŸ˜€

    ~ramsu

Leave a Reply

