Shahrukh Aman?

I just watched bits and pieces of Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi last night and it occurred to me suddenly that it was essentially a gender-swapped version of Satyam Shivam Sundaram, with SRK in the Zeenat Aman role and dancing instead of boinking.

Does anyone else agree, or is it just me?

It’s genetic, I think. My dad happened to watch Bombay on TV one day and commented that the song Kannalanae was simply a gender-swapped version of Maankuyilae Poonguyilae from Karakattakkaran, with Manisha in the Ramarajan role.

ps: While on the topic of SSS, could someone please assure me that it was all meant to be symbolic? Otherwise, I’d be up all night screaming at those characters to have their tubes tied and do the gene pool a favour.

5 thoughts on “Shahrukh Aman?

  1. Can’t comment on the first comparison, cos I haven’t watched either of those movies (thank god!), but the second really had me laughing… poor Manisha Koirala!

  2. Catherine the Great says:

    (aka Naina. Alternately, the queen of Russia, who was pen pals with Francois-Marie Arouet — or do we know the guy better by his pseudonym, Voltaire?)

    Let me just say that seeing Shahrukh and Aman in such proximity took me straight to Kal Ho Na Ho! 😀 About the gender swapping, I completely concur with Coleridge: “The truth is, a great mind must be androgynous!”

    Incidentally, Satyam Shivam Sundaram is the one I’d watched in bits and pieces on TV long time ago. Probably why the ps part whizzes right past this numskull. All I recall of the movie is that whenever the camera is not busy disguising her scar, it’s drooling over her diaphanous, bra-less splendor (what else? This is a Raj “Cup”oor fillum, no?). 🙂

  3. Hmmm, I don’t remember Anushka screaming and yelling and fainting with horror everytime she came across thakela-but-sweet-SRK’s face.

    I firmly believe SSS was Raj Kapoor trying to make something more out of a wet dream than the usual. (oh, ew.)

    • Oh, ew is about right 🙂

      And SRK isn’t getting any younger. There may come a day when he acts with another 18 year-old co-star and she takes one look at him and goes, “I’m married to the crypt-keeper!”

  4. S says:

    Ha, made my day! (Needless to say, “Great” and I are one.) I’m now imagining the crypt keeper saying to his tender starlet: Cubby Cushy Chubby Come! 😛

Leave a Reply

