Three thoughts on 3 Idiots

  1. Apropos the controversy about Chetan Bhagat’s name in the credits, I don’t remember enough of the book or what got shown in the opening or closing credits to comment. I will say, however, that I noticed at least a few jokes circulating on the Internet making their way into the movie. The one about submitting an exam paper late, and the sight gag about a group photo of women in burqas come to mind immediately. So if we’re talking about giving credit where it is due, shouldn’t Hirani have said Adapted from Chetan Bhagat’s novel and my gmail account?
  2. There is a moment soon after the balaatkaar scene when Silencer confronts Rancho and asks him why he victimized him just to make a point. The latter responds with some platitudes about rote learning, but the point Silencer makes is valid in more than one way. Most people who have studied in premier educational institutions are familiar with the concept of relative grading, and how some people see academics as a zero sum game like Silencer does. But while his is a familiar stereotype, he is also written into the plot for no reason other than to provide a counterpoint to Rancho’s “greatness”. I don’t object to the presence of such a character in the movie, but I object to him being used as nothing more than a blatant plot device.
  3. For a movie that preaches the value of innovation, the script plays it extraordinarily safe. It’s like he took a bit of  Five-point Someone and standard Hollywood formulae for maverick geniuses stuck in stodgy institutions, and mixed into a script for Munnabhai Becomes An Engineer. Why would he want to do that?

And yeah, whatever Memsaab and Amrita said goes for me as well.

8 thoughts on “Three thoughts on 3 Idiots

  1. Yay! I finally got to see this on the weekend and adored it. I’d have to rank it in my top 10 films, but then again any film that I actually get to see in a theatre is probably going to be kind of special.
    I’m almost tempted to find a copy of Bhagat’s novel to compare.

  2. Sun-J says:

    Can’t help but agree with you, Obi-Wan! So much old junk floating around the internet has found its way into the film – including the classic one about NASA investing millions in a zero-gravity pen and Soviets using a pencil. I found myself ‘completing his sentences’ throughout the movie – to the annoyance of the family seated next to me.

    Such a paradox – a movie about innovation that does not innovate but steals! Only the Rich Can pull it off — if you follow my pun.

    Cheers!

  3. Saurabh>> I don’t remember much of Chetan Bhagat’s novel, but I don’t remember it having any sort of essence either 😀 It didn’t have too much preachiness though, which I admired.

    shellie>> Glad you had a good time! I enjoyed much of it while it was happening, but the problems kept piling up on one side. When it went into schlock overdrive with the baby’s revival scene, I couldn’t ignore them any longer.

    Padawan, Aamir’s done that earlier as well with Akele Hum Akele Tum, so it doesn’t surprise me too much. Maybe he meant for it to be ironic, but I am disinclined to believe that.

  4. So finally I meet someone who agrees with the minor (yet important) manipulative plot devices the writers used.

    3 Idiots is a maniacally entertaining ride, no doubt. But its certainly not ‘the film of the decade!’ 🙂

    Great write-up. Do read my blogpost on the same if you get some time. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

