Freeze Frame #156: When Harry Met Sally

I just read the news that Nora Ephron passed away. So this one is by way of memoriam.

When Harry Met Sally is, for me, the yardstick that other romantic comedies will always be measured by. Precious few so far have managed to hold up well against that standard. It has two personable leads with amazing chemistry, wonderful dialogue and nary a weak moment throughout its running time.

The finest moment is, of course, the one at the restaurant. I think it is all the more effective because, until then, you never get any hint that she could even be capable of something like that. All Harry can do is watch and smile.

Rather than rave about it any further, let me simply put the link up here:

That closing line is so iconic, it is likely to feature in at least half the tributes to Nora Ephron in some form or shape.  

RIP, Ms. Ephron.

 

6 thoughts on “Freeze Frame #156: When Harry Met Sally

  1. In a NYT article Meryl Streep is quoted as saying, “She was an expert in all the departments of living well.”

    I bet that wherever Nora Ephron is, she will keep doing things “well” and helping folks laugh.

  2. S says:

    Ramsu, I don’t think I ever sat down and watched this movie fully. I’ve seen clips here and there. I must remedy that asap! And OMG, this must be the mother of that other restaurant-orgasm scene from The Ugly Truth — the one that has Katherine Heigl orgasming uncontrollably, thanks to that little boy with quick hands at the table across from her (I know this doesn’t come out quite correct!). I’ve said this at Amrita’s before, but I’ve never laughed harder in my life, and Gerard Butler’s expression was positively priceless.

    The ability to just unabashedly let yourself go, when you’re among those who love you/care about you/(secretly)crave you etc is to me the quintessence of chemistry! The moment you start to feel inhibited is the time to get up and… bolt, I guess. In any relationship. (Especially friendship.)

    • I agree, but I also feel that might be a bit simplistic. At what point does this constraint stop being about the relationships and start being about our ability to let go at all?

      • S says:

        Thinking back, yes, that does sound a tad simplistic. I agree with you that one’s (often inherent) ability to let go (or not) may not necessarily be a comment on the relationship(s).

Leave a Reply

