Not much to say right now, just breezing through…

I’ve heard Yerikarai poongaathe a number of times, but I never really listened to it until I read this sublime little description at the end of a Gautham Menon interview by the always-readable Baradwaj Rangan:

Think Ilankaathu veesuthe, or further back, the godly Yerikarai poongaathe, which, despite being sung by KJ Yesudas, is no solo but really a duet between the singer and the flute.

KJY: Yerikkarai poongaathe…

(Flute: Yeah, you talkin’ to me?)

KJY: Nee pora vazhi thenkizhakko…

(Flute: Perhaps. Why do you ask?)

KJY: Thenkizhakku vaasamalli…

(Flute: What about it?)

KJY: Yenna thedi vara thoodhu sollu…

(Flute: Hmm… lemme think about it…)

By the time you get to the second stanza, verbalizing the flute’s responses requires some of Tarantino’s calibre.

Amazing how the man’s music still manages to surprise us.

2 thoughts on “Not much to say right now, just breezing through…

  1. S says:

    Oh I LOVE this song, this movie… I LOVE Bhagyaraj movies, in general!

    About that “sublime description” bit, you mean “always-reedable”? 🙂 Seriously, I don’t know about you but I feel BR is more in his “element” when he’s writing about music than movies (at least of late). And I wish he’d write more “musical” pieces (one can wish, right?). It seems as if the Raja interview may be the only time this year that the topic of “music” has been touched by his transcendent observations, which the topic of “movies” (for whatever reason) has been successfully eluding, ALL year! (It’s probably me and I can’t put a finger on it, but a pall of pungence seems to have descended upon his movie reviews lately. His music reviews/references (in comments etc) otoh are light as air in their breezy resonance, clarity… Maybe a break from the movies might be the cure-all for THis malaise? Easier said than done, I know, especially when one is “employed” to watch movies and music is what happens — or not — in your spar[s]e time).

    An aside, I wish he’d (somehow find a good excuse to) register his thoughts on the SJ-SPB “duet” in that Sangeetha item number Beth tweeted yesterday, from the TR movie Uravai Kaatha Kili. For instance, how SJ’s is the distinctive vamp voice, while SPB sings for the (collective) clone-boys..

Leave a comment