From the OST of “Ramsu”

I saw this interesting post at Shouts and Murmurs the other day.  Basically, it was a tag where one had to pick a song or two to suit a bunch of situations. It seemed interesting, so I gave it a shot. Here goes:

Rules of the tag: Various situations are given. You have to come up with a song ( or a couple) that aptly describe those situations in YOUR life.

Opening credits: I’d like to pick Bang Bang (He shot me down)” by Nancy Sinatra, but that’s just my favourite song for the opening credits, not the one that describes my life. So I’ll go with Pink Floyd’s Shine on you crazy diamond, with random production credits appearing against a black backdrop and my name appearing just when those four signature notes break through the lull created in the first few minutes. Delusions of grandeur? Yeah, well, why not?

Waking up: Aasmaan ke paar shaayad from Rockford. I always remember singing this song towards the fag end of an all-night jam session with my 12C bandmates at IIMC, so it’s not technically a waking up song. But the moment I think of it, I instantly remember what it felt like to have the first rays of the sun streaming through the window of the music room.

Average day: Isn’t it a lovely day, the Fred and Ginger dance number from Top Hat. Tum se hi from Jab We Met.

First date: Hoshwaalon ko khabar kya from Sarfarosh (it’s the first movie my wife and I saw together).

Falling in love: Dheemi dheemi from 1947: Earth. Sippi irukkudhu from Varumaiyin Niram Sigappu.

Love Scene: The jazz soundtrack playing in the background during the love scene in Jerry Maguire. So wildly inappropriate that Tom Cruise stops to ask “What is this music?” On quieter nights, Pyaar ki raat by Euphoria.

Fight Scene: Madurai veeran from Dhool.

Breaking up: Breathe (2 am) by Anna Nalick. Mandram vandha thendral from Mouna Raagam. Do hanson ka joda from Ganga Jumna.

Getting back together: The last triumphant stretch in Kalaivaaniye from Sindhu Bhariavi that ends with Varuvaai. Tumne pukaara aur hum chale aaye from Rajkumar.

Life’s ok: Kisi ke muskuraahaton pe from Anari.

Mental Breakdown: The stretch in Nothing but Wind where the quiet melody is drowned out by the cacophony of mechanical noises. And the same quiet melody returning in the end, but sounding, somehow, so much sadder. The cover of Comfortably Numb that plays in the background during the lovemaking scene in The Departed.

Driving: Unnaiththaane from Nallavanukku Nallavan. For reasons too complicated to explain.

Learning a lesson: Kholo kholo darwaaze from Taare Zameen Par. Including the little breaks in the middle, like the one where one of the teachers sings the theme from Verdi’s Rigoletto.

Deep thought: Endha oor enbavane from Kaattu Roja. High Hopes by Pink Floyd. The Lonely Shepherd by Gheorghe Zamfir (composed by James Last) from the soundtrack of Kill Bill.

Flashback: The soft opening of Pyaar humein iss mod pe, when you just hear one voice starting tentatively, Tumne woh kya dekha.

Partying: Engeyum eppodhum, both the original from Ninaiththaale Inikkum and the brilliant remix from Polladhavan.

Happy Dance: Aasai Nooru Vagai from Aduththa Vaarisu.

Regretting: High Hopes by Pink Floyd.

Death Scene: The end of the song Vedam anuvanuvuna from Saagara Sangamam, where the song slowly builds to a crescendo while a Sanskrit verse (Jayanti deva) sounds a solemn counterpoint.

Closing Credits: John Cage’s 4′ 33″. If you haven’t heard (of) it, google it.

Am not sure I want to tag anyone per se, but I’d definitely like to see Memsaab, Beth or Veracious do a list like this, but with only Indian music! Folks, you up for it?

Update (14 September 2008): A whole bunch of people seem to have been inspired by this to do their own OSTs. The list is as lovely as it is varied. Some choices make me wish I’d thought of them. Some others drive home how little I actually know of Indian film music. I suggest you go check them out:

16 thoughts on “From the OST of “Ramsu”

  1. Dei Ramsu, I listened to ‘Kholo Kholo’ after reading your post, but I didn’t come across any singing by teachers. Also can you point me to a downloadable mp3 for the theme music in Verdi’s Rigoletto.

  2. Dei,

    The Verdi bit appears in the movie but not in the album. The scene is set in an open air auditorium where everyone, teachers included, is drawing something. One of them suddenly sings the tune of a piece titled La donna e mobile (translates to Women are fickle, I think).

    You can find a link to that song in the Wikipedia entry for Rigoletto, right at the bottom.

    ~r

  3. Hmmm. I can give it a try, but it might be difficult to only use Indian music since 9/10ths of my life (so far) went by before I started listening to it! Also…I don’t have that much of a life, ha ha! 🙂 But I love Pink Floyd too.

  4. Memsaab>> For you, especially, I was thinking of tightening the constraint to “Songs from B&W Shammi movies”, but I’ll relax that on account of only 10% of your life so far being devoted to Shammi-worship 🙂

    For a long time now, I’ve been nursing hopes of finishing a short story inspired by Floyd’s High Hopes. Somehow, it’s never really taken flight. Maybe someday… 😦

    ~r

  5. Pretty much all of my college life was passed to the tunes of The Wall.

    Actually, forcing me to use only songs from Shammi’s b/w films might make it easier. Less dithering to do!

  6. Well then, just Shammi it is! I await your list with bated breath 🙂

    The Wall seems appropriate for college life, given how much education we usually get during that period!

    ~r

  7. Thanks, the link to the MP3 on the Wikipedia entry didn’t work. But I did catch the teacher singing, in the DVD I have. But the Rigoletto theme isn’t to be found online.

Leave a comment